# exampundit

www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

## National Language of India: Official Languages of India

We Exam Pundit Team, has made "BOOST UP PDFS" Series to provide The Best Free PDF Study Materials on All Topics of Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude, English Section and General awareness section. This Boost Up PDFs brings you questions in different level, Easy, Moderate & Hard, and also in New Pattern Questions. we also providing all the study materials for SSC & RRB exams. Each PDFs contains 50 Questions along with Explanation. For More PDF Visit: pdf.exampundit.in

## National Language of India: Official Languages of India

- India has a unique culture and is one of the oldest and greatest civilizations of the world
- India is a land of diversity in race, religion, culture, language, landforms, flora and fauna and so on
- Republic of India is divided into 28 States and 8 Union Territories for administrative purposes.
- India has various official languages at the Union and state/Union territory levels. However, there is no national language in India.
- The Constitution of India did not give the status of national language to any one language.
- English and Hindi are the two official languages of the Union government of India. In addition to the official languages, the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution specifies a list of 22 languages.
- Part XVII of the Indian Constitution deals with the official languages in Article 343 to 351.
- The Eighth Schedule to the Indian Constitution contains a list of 22 scheduled languages (Originally 14 languages). These are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Mathili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi,Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. Sindhi was added by the 21st Amendment Act of 1967; Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added by the 71st Amendment Act of 1992; and Bodo, Dongri, Maithili and Santhali were added by the 92nd Amendment Act of 2003.

## Official language of the Union

- Article 343 (1) has mentioned that "The official language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devanagari script. The form of numerals to be used for the official purposes of the Union shall be the international form of Indian numerals."
- English is an additional official language for union government along with Hindi

## **Official languages of States**

• Indian states have the liberty and powers to specify their own official language(s) through legislation

Page 1 of 5

## Subscribe The Xpress Video Course & Mock Test Package for Bank & Insurance Exams If there are any suggestions/ errors in our PDFs Feel Free to contact us via this email: admin@exampundit.in

# exampundit

www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

## National Language of India: Official Languages of India

- The legislature of a state may adopt any one or more of the languages in use in the state or Hindi as the official language of that state. Until that is done, English is to continue as the official language of that state. Under this provision, most of the states have adopted the major regional language as their official language
- List of Indian states and their official languages

S.No	States	Official language(s)	Additional Official language(s)
1	Andhra Pradesh	Telugu	English
2	Arunachal Pradesh	English	
3	Assam	Assamese	Bengali in three districts
			of Barak Valley,
			Bodo in Bodoland Territorial
			Council areas
4	Bihar	Hindi	Urdu
5	Chhattisgarh	Hindi	Chhattisgarhi
6	Goa	Konkani, English	Marathi
7	Gujarat	Gujarati	Hindi
8	Haryana	Hindi	English, Punjabi
9	Himachal Pradesh	Hindi	Sanskrit
10	Jharkhand	Hindi	
11	Karnataka	Kannada	English
12	Kerala	Malayalam	English
13	Madhya Pradesh	Hindi	
14	Maharashtra	Marathi	
15	Manipur	Manipuri	English
16	Meghalaya	English	Khasi and Garo
17	Mizoram	Mizo	English, Hindi
18	Nagaland	English	
19	Odisha	Odia	
20	Punjab	Punjabi	
21	Rajasthan	Hindi	
22	Sikkim	English, Nepali,	

Page 2 of 5

Subscribe The Xpress Video Course & Mock Test Package for Bank & Insurance Exams If there are any suggestions/ errors in our PDFs Feel Free to contact us via this email: admin@exampundit.in



www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

# National Language of India: Official Languages of India

		Sikkimese, Lepcha	
23	Tamil Nadu	Tamil	English
24	Telangana	Telugu	Urdu
25	Tripura	Bengali, Kokborok and English	
		Linghish	
26	Uttar Pradesh	Hindi	Urdu
27	Uttarakhand	Hindi	Sanskrit
28	West Bengal	Bengali, English	

## List of Indian Union Territories and their official languages

S.No	Union Territory	Official language(s)	Additional Official
			language(s)
1	Andaman and	Hindi, English	
	Nicobar Islands		
2	Chandigarh	English	
3	Dadra and Nagar	Gujarati, Konkani, Marathi,	
	Haveli and Daman	Hindi	
	and Diu		
4	Delhi	Hindi, English	Urdu, Punjabi
5	Lakshadweep	Malayalam	English
6	Jammu and	Urdu	
	Kashmir		
7	Ladakh	Urdu, English	
8	Puducherry	Tamil, Hindi, English, French	Malayalam(Mahe),
			Telugu(Yanam)

Subscribe The Xpress Video Course & Mock Test Package for Bank & Insurance Exams If there are any suggestions/ errors in our PDFs Feel Free to contact us via this email: admin@exampundit.in



www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

# National Language of India: Official Languages of India

### Language of the Judiciary

- Under Article 348 (1) of the Constitution of India provides that all proceedings in the Supreme Court and in every High court shall be in the English Language until Parliament by law otherwise provides.
- Under Article 348 (2) of the Constitution of India, the governor of a state, with the previous consent of the president, can authorize the use of Hindi or any other official language of the state in the proceedings in the high court of the state but the judgments, decrees and orders of the high court must continue to be in English only

#### **Articles Related to Official Languages**

Article No.	Details				
Language of the Union Government					
343	The official language of the Union				
344	Commission and Committee of Parliament related to the official language				
	Regional Languages				
345	Official language or languages of a state				
346	Official language for communication between one state and another or between a				
	state and the Union				
347	Special provision relating to language spoken by a section of the population of a				
	state				
	Language of the Supreme Court, High Courts				
348	Language to be used in the Supreme Court and in the High Courts and for Acts,				
	Bills, etc.				
349	Special procedure for enactment of certain laws relating to language				
Special Directives					
350	Language to be used in representation for redress of grievances				
350A	Facilities for instruction in mother-tongue at primary stage				
350B	Special Officer for linguistic minorities				
351	The directive for development of the Hindi language				



www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

# National Language of India: Official Languages of India

### **Classical Languages**

- Indian languages with classical status are as follows
  - 1. Tamil (since 2004)
  - 2. Sanskrit (since 2005)
  - 3. Telugu (since 2008)
  - 4. Kannada (Since 2008)
  - 5. Malayalam (since 2013)
  - 6. Odiya (since 2014)
- Tamil was the first Classical Language of India

Click Here to Download Important Notes on Indian Polity for SSC & Railway Exams

Download THE COMPLETE General Science PDF for SSC & Railway Exams

# <u>Click Here to Join Our What's App Group & Get Instant</u> <u>Notification on Study Materials & PDFs</u>

**<u>Click Here to Join Our Official Telegram Channel</u></u>** 

Page 5 of 5