

www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

LIST OF PRIME MINISTERS OF INDIA FROM 1947 TO 2020

We Exam Pundit Team, has made "BOOST UP PDFS" Series to provide The Best Free PDF Study Materials on All Topics of Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude, English Section and General awareness section. This Boost Up PDFs brings you questions in different level, Easy, Moderate & Hard, and also in New Pattern Questions. we also providing all the study materials for SSC & RRB exams. Each PDFs contains 50 Questions along with Explanation. For More PDF Visit: pdf.exampundit.in

LIST OF PRIME MINISTERS OF INDIA FROM 1947 TO 2020

S.No	Name	Term of office	Remarks
1	Jawaharlal Nehru	August 15, 1947 - May 27,	1. The first Prime Minister of
		1964	independent India
			2. Longest-serving Prime minister of
			India
2	Gulzari Lal Nanda	May 27, 1964 - June 9,	1. First acting Prime minister of India
	(Acting)	1964	
3	Lal Bahadur Shastri	June 09, 1964 - January 11,	1. He led the country during the Indo-
		1966	Pakistan War of 1965. His slogan ''Jai
			Jawan, Jai Kisan" became very
			popular during the war.
			2. Second Prime Minister of India
4	Gulzari Lal Nanda	January 11, 1966 - January	
	(Acting)	24, 1966	
5	Indira Gandhi	January 24, 1966 - March	1. First and only woman Prime Minister
		24, 1977	of India
6	Morarji Desai	March 24, 1977 - July 28,	1. The first non-congress prime minister
		1979	of India
			2. He was the first Indian Prime Minister
			to resign from office
7	Charan Singh	July 28, 1979 - January14,	1. Charan Singh was the only Prime
		1980	Minister of India who didn't face the
			Parliament

Page 1 of 3

<u>Subscribe The Xpress Video Course & Mock Test Package for Bank & Insurance Exams</u> If there are any suggestions/ errors in our PDFs Feel Free to contact us via this email: admin@exampundit.in

exampundit

www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

LIST OF PRIME MINISTERS OF INDIA FROM 1947 TO 2020

0	Indian Condhi	Lanuary 14, 1080 October	
8	Indira Gandhi	January 14, 1980 - October	
		31 , 1984	
9	Rajiv Gandhi	October 31, 1984 -	1. Youngest prime minister of India
		December 01, 1989	
10	Vishwanath Pratap Singh	December 02, 1989 -	1. First prime minister to step down after
		November 10, 1990	a vote of the no-confidence motion
11	Chandra Shekhar	November 10, 1990 - June	1. Chandra Shekhar served as the eighth
		21, 1991	Prime Minister of India
12	P.V. Narasimha Rao	June 21, 1991 - May 16,	1. P.V. Narasimha Rao served as the 9th
		1996	Prime Minister of India
13	Atal Bihari Vajpayee	May 16, 1996 - June 01,	1. Prime Minister for shortest tenure (13
		1996	days)
14	H.D. Deve Gowda	June 01, 1996 - April 21,	1. First Prime Minister from south India
		1997	2. 11th Prime Minister of India
15	I.K. Gujral	April 21, 1997 - March 18,	1. 12th Prime Minister of India
		1998	
16	Atal Bihari Vajpayee	March 19, 1998 - May 22,	1. First Non-Congress Prime Minister to
		2004	complete the full term
17	Dr. Manmohan Singh	May 22, 2004 - May 26,	1. First Sikh Prime Minister of India
		2014	2. 13th Prime Minister of India
18	Narendra Modi	May 26, 2014 - Incumbent	1. Narendra Modi (17 September 1950)
			is the first Prime Minister of India to
			be born after the Independence of
			India
			2. 14th and current Prime Minister

Extra Shots:

- The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, while the other ministers are appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister
- Prime Minister is the head of the council of ministers.
- Prime Minister is the real executive authority

Page 2 of 3

Subscribe The Xpress Video Course & Mock Test Package for Bank & Insurance Exams If there are any suggestions/ errors in our PDFs Feel Free to contact us via this email: admin@exampundit.in

exampundit

www.exampundit.in pdf.exampundit.in

LIST OF PRIME MINISTERS OF INDIA FROM 1947 TO 2020

- Prime minister is the ex-officio chairman of the NITI Aayog, National Development Council, National Integration Council, Inter-State Council, and National Water Resources Council.
- Prime minister is the chief spokesman of the Union government. He announces government policies on the floor of the House.
- Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, V.P. Singh, P.V. Narasimha Rao, H.D. Deve Gowda and Narendra Modibecame Prime Ministers after being Chief Ministers of their respective States

Click Here to Download Important Notes on Indian Polity for SSC & Railway Exams

Download THE COMPLETE General Science PDF for SSC & Railway Exams

<u>Click Here to Join Our What's App Group & Get Instant</u> <u>Notification on Study Materials & PDFs</u>

<u>Click Here to Join Our Official Telegram Channel</u>

Page 3 of 3